Cutty Sark is one of the most famous ships in the world, and the last tea clipper on the planet. The Greenwich landmark recently reopened after a serious fire damaged it in May of 2007, but fortunately, most of the ship’s equipment and furnishings, including the stunning mast, were already removed for conservation when the blaze occurred.
Cutty Sark hull
During restoration, the ship was suspended over ten feet into the air, welcoming visitors to stroll under its massive hull and see Cutty Sark from a completely new and fascinating perspective.
Cutty Sark deck
The ship was named after Cutty Sark, the nickname of the witch Nannie Dee in Robert Burns’ 1791 poem Tam o’ Shanter. The ship’s figurehead, the original carved by Robert Hellyer of Blackwall, shows Nannie Dee in a stark white carving of a bare-breasted woman with long black hair holding a grey horse’s tail in her hand
The Cutty Sark’s Figurehead
Visitors are welcome to explore the decks and walk in the footsteps of seamen who sailed the ship between England and China in the 1800s. Marvel at the ship’s impressive cargoes, view the awe-inspiring hull’s graceful lines and learn why Cutty Sark was the greatest and fastest ship of her time.
The Cutty Sark Greenwich
Special family weekends make exploring the ship even more fun throughout the year. The hands-on exhibits and interactive displays make Cutty Sark a favorite London attraction for both children and adults.
The Cutty Sark with lights